Skip to content

TGR = Tring, Grin, & Rejoice!

May 2, 2014

Tring Tring Tring Tring… my mobile started ringing again as I opened the main door of my flat. It was a call from one of my close friends.

‘She seemed to be desperate to talk about something serious’, I thought.

I too, by now, was a bit concerned. She had called me about an hour ago too. But as I was driving I told her that I would call her as soon as I reach home. In normal times it would not have taken me more than half an hour to reach home from my Institute where I teach. But today it was one of those exceptional days when there was massive traffic jam because of a political rally for the ongoing election campaigns of some political party.

I opened the door hurriedly and reached for my mobile.

‘Hello Alka! How are you? Hope all is well!’ I asked.

She could sense the anxiety in my voice and said, ‘Yes, yes, not to worry. Have you reached home?’

‘Just entering the main door’, I replied and continued, ‘There was a terrible traffic jam due to some rally…and I am completely exhausted after driving alternating the clutch and brake for almost 40-45 minutes! I don’t know why do these rallyists insist on only main roads for their rallies…’ I rattled out.

‘I understand! This does happen at times…some days are like that’, she tried to calm me down and continued, ‘but I have a surprise for you’.

‘What surprise?’ I asked.

‘I’ll let you know. I am reaching your place in about 15 minutes’, she said and disconnected the phone and left me thinking about it.

‘I have about 15 minutes… let me freshen up’ was the next target for me to achieve.

And when the door-bell rang, I instantly opened the door.

Alka was right…she had a big surprise for me…she was standing there at the door with Sneh, another of our old friends from school! The friend whom we had not met for almost thirty years! And we had lost hope to be able to locate her. All our attempts to find her on any of the social networking sites were futile.

‘This is for us all!’ said Sneh and handed me a bottle.

‘This is the latest scotch blend that our company has brought out’, she explained.

‘Black Dog Triple Gold Reserve!’ Alka and I read it aloud on the label.

‘Black Dog Triple Gold Reserve, as the name itself suggests, is the only blended Scotch that is produced involving a triple maturation process’, she added.

‘What is triple maturation process?’ I asked ignorantly. My knowledge of whiskeys was extremely poor and from the expressions on Alka’s face I could see that even she too didn’t know much about it.

‘The triple maturation process which involves Grain whiskies and Malt whiskies separately matured in American Bourbon Casks and then blended together and matured again in Oloroso Sherry Butts for an extra longer period of time to give the blend a distinctive flavour and a delicate finish’, Sneh could speak unhesitatingly. After all she had been one of the members of the marketing team.

‘Let’s celebrate our reunion with TGR!’ suggested Alka.

‘Toast to TGR by TGR!’ I said.

‘Now what is that second TGR?’ Alka and Sneh were confused.

First TGR is Three Girls’ Reunion and second one is obviously Triple Gold Reserve.

Needless to say that the whole evening was well spent talking about the past, present and future and unwinding with friends.

 

Tring, Grin & Rejoice!

Tring, Grin & Rejoice!

 

Sangita Passey
02 May 2014

 

 

Black Dog Easy Evenings | Black Dog Scotch | Ginger Claps

Disclaimer: The content of this post is meant only for people above the age of 25

From → Taste Point

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

