Skip to content

Yehi hai right choice baby

May 10, 2014

‘Mrs Puri, she is bright and brilliant at studies, so she should take up medical’, said my Principal to my Mom who had been called to discuss the issue.

My Principal was clearly trying to persuade her as well as me that I should take the PCB (Physics, Chemistry, and Biology) combination when the time came to decide the subjects at higher secondary level.

‘I will neither impose my choice of subjects nor yours for her further studies’, said my Mom firmly to my Principal and continued, ‘I strongly feel that she can excel in the field of her choice.’

It was her firm belief and confidence in me that let me chose Economics and Mathematics for my higher secondary so that I could pursue my graduation, post-graduation and my DPhil in Mathematics and took up teaching profession which I always loved.

Thanks Mom, for indirectly training me not to force and impose my will and ways to the children whether my own or the ones whom I teach.

 

 

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.

 

Sangita Passey
10 May 2014

From → Idea Point

4 Comments
  1. preethiprasan permalink

    that is lovely. I went through the same thing..am now a commerce graduate and much more thanks to my mom who supported my choice even though she is a doctor by profession and many people did try to convince me to take science and pursue medicine 🙂 all the best for the wow 🙂

  2. Hats off to your mom for taking this stand! I am a firm believer in Freedom of Choice.

    Incidentally, what was her educational background at that time?

  3. Thanks for the appreciative words! Yes, she has been a courageous lady all her life and is even now at 82. She herself is a graduate. 🙂

Leave a Reply

