Skip to content

Whisky and music

May 15, 2014

After a long and tiring day at work one desperately needs to unwind and relax. Even health gurus are giving a lot of importance to relaxation and unwinding not only at the end of the day but they recommend short breaks during working hours as well. So much so that the big corporates even organise relaxing sessions whether in the form of laughter sessions, yoga, meditation or any other similar break for their employees. It is well known that a relaxed mind and body can perform and think much better. It is always advised to take small break in between the work routine.

Spending the evening alone with your favourite music can soothe the nerves and relax the mind. One of our friends was a confirmed believer of this. He had been staying alone since his wife died a few years ago and children were studying in the hostel. He was fond of both music and whisky.

One evening when we visited him, he was relaxing in his favourite sofa chair, a glass of whisky and snacks on the side table beside him and was listening to ghazals of Ghulam Ali. No doubt, the atmosphere was quiet and soothing and our arrival might have disturbed him.

‘We are sorry, we may have disturbed you’, we said.

‘No, no, it is my pleasure! Good to see you both after a long time. In fact I was thinking of inviting both of you for dinner. Now that you have come you will have dinner with me’, he said.

‘Do only ghazals go with whisky?’ I asked during conversation. Perhaps my new grown interest to know more about whiskies could not hold be back from asking a silly question.

He laughed and said, ‘No, I do not think so. At least I don’t believe in that. I listen to the music to unwind and relax. And I have my Black Dog Scotch whisky too to unwind and relax.’

‘I listen to the music that I like the best and it can be ghazals, Bollywood music, or may be western depending on the mood’, he said.

‘But my whisky is only Black Dog’, he said, ‘And the Black Dog Triple Gold Reserve is the latest and only blend that is triple matured’.

‘Yes, we had read that the triple maturation process involves Grain whiskies and Malt whiskies separately matured in American Bourbon Casks and then blended together and matured again in Oloroso Sherry Butts for an extra longer period of time to give the blend a distinctive flavour and a delicate finish’, Arvind said.

‘And it has been appreciated and accepted as a parallel to any 12 Y.O blended scotch’, added our friend, ‘It unwinds me when I am alone, I like it with my music, and I enjoy it with my friends too!’

 

Image credit: Facebook page of Black Dog

Image credit: Facebook page of Black Dog

 

 

Sangita Passey
15 May 2014

 

 

Black Dog Easy Evenings | Black Dog Scotch | Ginger Claps

Disclaimer: The content of this post is meant only for people above the age of 25

From → Review Point

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

