Skip to content

The journey of a school teacher

May 26, 2014

Who is a role model? Is he a person who you only like or love? Is he the same person all through your life? Can there be only one role model for me? The answer to my mind is ‘No’.

For different stages and times of one’s life there may be different role models. We all play different roles at different times. For instance, I am a wife, a mother, a teacher, a table-tennis player, a department In-charge, a home-maker and the list goes on. So for these roles that I have to play in my life, I may have separate role model at different stages of life.

Let me bring to you my role model of my school times! Let me tell you about my role model when I was in school – Chander Parkash Sir, (it is so difficult to just write his name without the necessary ‘sir’) who was my English teacher at school.

We were afraid of him for he was strict teacher. He was a disciplinarian and wanted all of us to follow not only school rules but grammar rules too! Yet he was friendly, affectionate, and approachable. He was always punctual in the class and did not miss a single class even though he was shouldering the responsibility of being a vice principal. But he loved all his students and knew when to mind them and when to overlook their mistakes.

At that age I hardly knew the term ‘role model’ but had all admiration for him and perhaps that was the time when I had decided to be teacher when I grew up. In effect, in him I was seeing my role model!

Like me most of his students are still in touch with him and visit him. Those, who are in the same city, are more fortunate to be able to see him frequently. He too is fond of his students and loves them.

In his book ‘The Journey of A School Teacher’ he has recalled and written about his experiences in different schools where he worked brought about changes in the results of the students with his hard work, devotions and dedication. And I know that this is true! This book is certainly a source of inspiration for all the teachers who want to bring about a change in society.

I felt honoured when he asked me to write a blurb for this book! I feel proud of this fact. Now, how many of us get an opportunity to write for the book written by his role model!

Me with Chander Parkash Sir  at his home at Patiala in 2009

Me with Chander Parkash Sir at his house in Patiala in 2009

Me with Chander Parkash Sir at his house in Patiala in 2009

Me with Chander Parkash Sir at his house in Patiala in 2009

Me with Chander Parkash Sir at his house in Patiala in 2009

Me with Chander Parkash Sir at his house in Patiala in 2009

Me with Chander Parkash Sir at his house in Patiala in 2009

Me with Chander Parkash Sir at his house in Patiala in 2009

 

 

 

I am writing about #MyRoleModel as a part of the activity by Gillette India in association with BlogAdda.com.

 

 

 

Sangita Passey
26 May 2014

From → Idea Point

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

