Skip to content

Whisky in beauty treatment

May 27, 2014

It was a nice and pleasant Monday morning in mid-May after a long spell (in India even a spell of 4-5 days seem very long) of very hot days. When I entered the institute, some of my colleagues were standing in the foyer and discussing the results of Lok Sabha elections which had just been concluded.

‘Good morning, Mrs Passey!’ said one of my colleagues, ‘Interesting information about whisky in your blog posts.’

‘Ohh, I am just reading and learning about whisky. Never thought there is so much to learn and know about Scotch whisky. So I just shared what I gathered’, I said shyly for I definitely was just a learner and not a master on the topic.

‘Even I have been following your recent blog posts on Scotch whisky. These are making interesting reads’, said Rajni another of my colleagues, who was a lecturer in beauty culture. She further added, ‘We use whisky for beauty treatments too.’

‘That is interesting’, I said, ‘Tell me more about it.’ I was curious to know.

Fortunately, both of us did not have any class at that time, so together we came to my room.

‘Well, you know, whisky can be used as a base for different face packs. These face packs are very much in demand these days. Whisky facials are becoming extremely popular’, Rajni told me once we settled down.

‘You mean Scotch whisky?’ I could not help asking but immediately realised that it was a foolish question.

‘Whisky is Scotch’, Rajni replied smilingly, ‘Isn’t it?’

‘And whenever you have your Black Dog Triple Gold Reserve, the only blend that involves a triple maturation process, save a little in the end for your facial,’ she chuckled.

I am sure by mentioning ‘Black Dog TGR and its triple maturation process’, she wanted to let me know for sure that she did have read my blog posts.

‘I will let you know about different face packs using whisky that can be made and used at home for having a well-nourished and glowing skin’, said Rajni, ‘And you don’t have to waste money at a fancy salon.’

And she told me the following 5 face packs that can be prepared easily if you have whisky at home.

1. Whisky and water face pack – Mix well 1 tbs of whisky and 3 ml of water. Apply this on face with the help of cotton ball and give a circular massage for 5-6 minutes. Leave if for about 10 minutes and then wash it off. Your skin will be tight and shiny.

2. Whisky and honey face pack – In one tbs whisky, mix well a tbs of honey. Apply it on face and massage gently for 5-6 minutes. After massage, leave it for about 20 minutes and then wash off with water. Moisturising properties of honey and antibacterial properties of honey will give you flawless and glowing skin.

3. Whisky and milk powder face pack – Prepare a face pack by mixing whisky, honey and milk powder. Apply it on face and leave for 12-15 minutes and then rinse off. The skin will be nourished and smooth.

4. Whisky and lemon pack – Mix whisky, lemon, and honey in equal proportions and apply this pack on face and neck. Lemon has bleaching properties, honey nourishes the skin and whisky is antibacterial. Wash off after 20 minutes. It helps to remove excessive secretion of natural oils and prevents acne, gives fairer complexion.

5. Whisky and egg face pack – Take 1 egg, 2 tsp whisky, 1 tsp honey, 1 tsp milk powder and a few drops of lemon juice and mix them well in the beaten egg. Apply this mixture on face as a face pack and let it dry. Once dry, clean it with wet tissue and wash off your face with water. Egg will tighten the skin, close large pores, and reduce wrinkles and fine lines.

I found this information useful. It was a revelation to me. I could not help sitting down to write this blog post when she left.

 

Whisky in beauty treatment

 

Sangita Passey
27 May 2014

 

 

Black Dog Easy Evenings | Black Dog Scotch | Ginger Claps

Disclaimer: The content of this post is meant only for people above the age of 25

Leave a Reply

